Diabetes, Depression and the Hillbilly Washing Machine.

http://refashionista.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/diy-hillbilly-washing-machine/?blogsub=confirming#blog_subscription-3 This is not my idea, but it has allowed me to get on my feet, literally again.

Let me just interject here: The cutesy commercials about diabetes products with all the stupid smiling faces are ridiculous. It hurts to inject yourself, test your blood sugar, etc. You have to do it anyway. Diabetes needs to have the same commercials as smoking and cigarettes; it’s just as deadly and acting like it’s no big deal, which the medical profession has, in my case, is stupid. Diabetes is a huge, painful deal. Lose the lard, people.

If you are young and overweight, I repeat, lose the lard. Period. Relatively normal is what you aim for, not too skinny, not too fat. That’s how God made you. I, however, learned this the hard way, and am now reaping the effects.  I have hypertension, diabetes, depression, insomnia, hypothyroidism, high cholesterol, and Alpha 1 Antitrypsin deficiency Number 3. You can look that last one up on the web.

The Alpha 1 is purely genetic, and not germane to the issue. It is uncomfortable and annoying. The hypothyroidism I have no idea about. My mother and father didn’t have it. I don’t know where it comes from. The underlying source of the rest: Depression. More about that another day. This is Diabetes Day. 

Exercise is important. Since I cannot walk or swim (neuropathy and no money) I can give myself a good workout with the Hillbilly Washing Machine, sitting in my kitchen and playing in the water. I shift the way I move the plunger or the clothing up and down. It has improved my flexibility, allowed me to build muscle and get back on my feet, literally. So I really want to share this, in the hope it will help someone else in the same condition. You don’t have to go anywhere to use it, it’s cheap, you won’t need a baby sitter if you have kids, and you get clean clothes to boot.  Even the wringing out the laundry is good for your hands and arms.

I can’t write any more. Good luck to all, and I’ll write more about these subjects later.

 

5 Comments to “Diabetes, Depression and the Hillbilly Washing Machine.”

  1. Glad you found it inspiring! I love seeing where this post turns up. 😉

    • It seriously changed my life. I have since upgraded to 10 gal. buckets and kingsized sheets! That kingsized comforter was not fun, however. 🙂 Had to just throw it over the line and come back later. 🙂 However, I wouldn’t call this inspiring. More like addicting from playing in the water and having a good time! 🙂

  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is
    in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from a lot of the
    information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Regards!

Leave a Reply

